Monday, 11 October 2021

Club Patron Wal Rainbow sadly passes

It is with much sadness that I announce the passing of Zone 15 and Umina Beach Bowling Club legend, Wal Rainbow. Wal passed away peacefully on Wednesday morning the 6th October, in a nursing home in Kempsie. Wal was 95 and his wife Shirley is 96. Wal and Shirley had been together since they were 16 years of age and were still very much in love with each other. Wal was a much loved legend at Umina Beach Bowling Club, where he is the current Club Patron. He was part of Umina’s 1st ever pennant winning side in 1969. 

  • In 1974 he won the Umina’s club 4’s
  • In 1992 he won the club triples
  • In 1994 he won the mixed pairs
  • In 1995 he won the Major Pairs
  • In 2011 he won the club triples. 

He was very influential in the formation and running of Zone 15 / Bowls Central Coast and was made a Life Member of Bowls Central Coast/Zone 15 on the 17th August 2017. 

Wal was:- 

  • Zone Patron from 1997 - 2009
  • Zone President from 1991 - 1994 
  • Zone Vice President from 2001 - 2002 
  • Zone State Councillor from 1995 - 1997 

He was awarded Australian Sports Medal (ASM) in 2000 for his services to lawn bowls. 

The Wal Rainbow Perpetual Shield features all the names of those bowlers that have won Bolwer of the Year since its inception in 1991 

RIP Wal....Thank you for all that you did for were a lovely man and a true legend.

Sunday, 20 June 2021

UBMBC 2021 Fours Championship Final


L>R  L. Cribbs, T Potter, P. Poulton, G. Arnold

The Final of the UBMBC 2021 Fours Championship was played this afternoon (19/6/2021) in atrocious, wet, cold, windy & gusty conditions. The game was pretty even throughout, with the Gary Arnold, Phil Poulton, Tony Potter & Lee Cribbs team eventually claiming victory over the Michael O'Sullivan, Jim Phillips, Ken Harrison & Tom Burgmann side 17 - 14. By all accounts, Phil Poulton was man of the match.  Congratulations to all players on making the final.

L>R  J. Phillips, M. O'Sullivan, K. Harrison, T. Burgmann


Monday, 24 May 2021

Zone 15 Grade 6 runners-up 2021

After sucessfully winning their group by half a point over Ettalong, our Grade 6's played in a round robin, first defeating Orimbah on Saturday 22nd May, then on the final day Sunday 23rd, losing to Halekulani by just one shot.

Umina lead from the start, until Hali came back, winning by just one shot on the big board, and with one rink up, one lost, and one drawn, it could not have been a closer game.  The final score 45-44. Congratulations Hali, and good luck at State.



2021 Grade 6 runners up


Thursday, 22 April 2021

Notice of Special General Meeting

Notice of Special General Meeting to be held on Thursday 13th May

Tuesday, 9 March 2021

Zone 15 Presidents Reserve Winners 2021


Umina Beach’s Lee Cribbs, Colin Mew and Shane Waddell defeated Mingara’s Brian Millanta, Peter Yates and Anthony Van Lierop in the thrill seeking final of the 2021 President Reserve Triples. Waddell’s team narrowly defeating the Ettalong trio in the mornings game, then coming back in the afternoon and claiming the title of 2021 President Reserve Triples champions for zone 15. We wish them all the best in the State Finals later in the year.

Wednesday, 3 March 2021

2021 Handicap Pairs Champions


Congratulations to John Hall & Terry Murphy on winning the UBMBC's first Championship for 2021, the Handicap Pairs, over Darrin Fleming & Tony Potter.
This was a very good final, played in front of a good crowd. Darrin & Tony had an early lead of 8 - 2, but John & Terry picked up six shots to make it 8 - 8. This end seemed to give John & Terry some momentum and they moved into the lead and stayed there. John & Terry were more consistent and Harry seemed to be hampered but a sore back, which didn't improved in the cold, damp conditions. But as Harry said "No excuses".
Congratulations once again to all players on making the final and to John & Terry on a great win.