Saturday, 18 August 2018

Wal Rainbow receives life membership of Zone 15

Umina's Wally Rainbow granted life membership at the Bowls Central Coast (Zone 15) AGM held on 17th August 2017
Some of Wally's achievements include:-
  • Period of Zone/District Service 1992-2009
  • Zone Patron from 1998 - 2009
  • Zone President from 1992 – 1994
  • Zone Vice President from 2001 – 2003
  • Zone State Councillor from 1996 – 1997
  • Awarded Australian Sports Medal (ASM) 2000 for services to lawn bowls.
The Wal Rainbow Perpetual Shield which features all the names of those bowlers that have won the BCC-Zone 15 Bowler of the Year since its inception in 1991. 
Championships won at Umina
            1974 – Fours              S. HARTLEY, G. JENNINGS, S. BLACK, W. RAINBOW
            1992 – Triples             G. DAVIS, W. RAINBOW, J. BOATWRIGHT
            1994 – Mixed Pairs       M. OUVER, W. RAINBOW
            1995 – Major Pairs       M. FRASER, W. RAINBOW
            2011 – Triples             S. STEAD, W. RAINBOW, R. ANDERSON
Served on the Committee from 1968
Won Umina’s 1st ever pennant flag in 1969 against Toukley
The pennant side was
Alex Taylor, George Jennings, Jim McCabe, Wally Rainbow, Ralph McGibbon, Roy Hill, George Matthews, Ray Smorti, Ossie Pickering, Hec Plasto, John Langford, Dal Morris, George Retford and Jack Hinwood. With manager, Tom West.